Posted in Christmas Shopping

First Pay Check, Christmas Shopping, and Flying Home

I got my first London pay check this week!

I work as a Student Ambassador at my university, a job I quite enjoy, even though one of the jobs I did last week involved me freezing outdoors in -2 degree weather for 7 hours. However, I digress. I got paid just in time for Christmas shopping and I couldn’t be happier.

At the beginning of term I’d told my family that if I was to have just one year in London, I wanted to experience the entire year here. So, I’d decided not to go home over the break, choosing instead, to spend Christmas in the UK. As December came around, though, my mother realised I had a month off of university and asked me to come home. To be quite honest, I am a tad bit homesick and welcomed her offer, but rationalized that it was already December and the ticket prices would probably give me a heart attack. As expected, the tickets were too expensive, and I had to tell my very disappointed mother that I wouldn’t be going home to meet her any time soon.

A few days later I got a call from my mother asking me to check prices again and book a ticket back, no matter how much it cost. I argued, playing the ‘it’s too expensive’ card, but no one has ever argued with their mother and won, so I found myself on the internet searching through flights back home, again.

Mothers are also never wrong. I don’t know why she called me that particular day, so hopeful that the prices wouldn’t be too bad this time round, but she was right. While tickets weren’t what you’d call cheap, they were rather decent for this time of year. And so, after receiving a text from her saying “BOOK RIGHT NOW”, I followed her orders and booked a flight back home to India.

We came to a compromise on the dates, as well. I wanted to spend Christmas in the UK, so I’m flying out on the 27th and spending New Year’s back home with the family.

Coming back to the pay check, now that I’m flying home for the holidays, I can’t go back empty handed. When you live abroad, it’s an unwritten rule that you have to return with a bag full of gifts. I live in a joint family, which means that I live with not only my parents but also my aunts, uncles, and lots of brothers and sisters. Getting my first pay, with the added bonus of Christmas and going home, made this the perfect occasion to go all out for the family.

So, my friend and I headed to Westfield in Stratford and spent hours searching for the perfect gifts for everyone. At the end of a successful shop, I had managed to buy things for 7 of my brothers and sisters, 3 of my closest friends, and most importantly, my pet dog.

This was the best way to spend my first pay, because everything I bought was for people I love, and every gift was something I knew would be special to them. After all, the Christmas spirit is all about giving, and I am so glad I embraced it.

That’s all for now, folks!

Hope you’re having a good morning/afternoon/night wherever you are!

Cheers,
Zee

Quote of the Day: “It is Christmas in the heart that puts Christmas in the air.” – W.T. Ellis

2 thoughts on “First Pay Check, Christmas Shopping, and Flying Home

Leave a Reply

