Posted in Cooking, Food, Student

Zee in the Kitchen

When I arrived in London, I hadn’t had a lot of experience in the kitchen. I had cooked a bit when I was in college, but nothing fancy, and not too often because my housing provided meals. Here, however, to cook or not to cook wasn’t really a choice; it was a matter of survival.  During my first few weeks here I met a lot of people who lived off of ready-to-eat meals and takeaways and I couldn’t imagine living like that. So, I took to cooking, and if I may say so myself, I found that I’m rather good at it.

I never use recipes to cook. From day one, I’ve gone with my gut and my taste buds and that’s what seems to work best for me. My flatmates often ask me what I’m cooking and I never know how to answer them because, to be honest, I never know what I’m cooking till it’s made. I start with a bunch of ingredients and then just make it up as I cook.

As a university student, I don’t have the time or the energy (I’m also lazy by nature) to cook on a daily basis, and so I generally make 2 big dishes that last me through the week. I also tend to cook a lot of Indian food because that’s home food, to me. I like coming back at the end of the day and enjoying a good Indian meal. I didn’t think I could cook the kind of food made back at home, but one day I decided to give it a go and just kept adding ingredients and tasting it until it tasted very similar to one of my favourite home-cooked dishes. Since then, I use the tasting method all the time and have managed to make rather decent versions of my mom’s dishes. I’m proud of me!

I now love cooking and am also more confident about my skills in the kitchen. Before I came to London, I only ever liked cooking for myself, because as I said, I never use recipes and experimenting doesn’t always deliver the best tasting dishes. I’m also the clumsiest person I’ve met and so, me in the kitchen usually results in something going wrong. I can’t even begin to count the number of times I’ve dropped an ingredient and I’m pretty certain I cut a finger or burn my hand every time I step into the kitchen. Pro tip – Never trust me with sharp objects.

Anyway, because taking pictures of food is a thing of our generation, I do have pictures of some dishes I’ve cooked during my time here in London. I thought I’d upload some in this post, and maybe even write some tried and tested (by me) easy-to-cook recipes for students in the future.

Here you go!

That’s all for now, folks!

Hope you’re having a good morning/afternoon/night wherever you are!

Cheers,
Zee

Quote of the Day: “No one is born a great cook, one learns by doing.” – Julia Child

Leave a Reply

