Posted in Cooking, London, Sleep

The Christmas Eve Eve Post

I woke up at 7 am today! For those of you wondering why that’s a big deal, for me that’s an accomplishment, okay? I am not a morning person, and struggle to wake up at half 8 to get to class on time, and I’m always grouchy in the morning. Honestly, I set at least 8-10 alarms before bed every night and even those aren’t enough to get me out of bed some days. Not going to bed till at least 2 am probably has a lot to do with my usually late start to mornings, but let’s not get into that.

Last night, for some reason, I felt really sleepy and went to bed around half 9. I watched a few episodes of How I Met Your Mother and was asleep by 11. I set my alarms for every half hour starting from 9 but woke up by 7 actually feeling awake. I don’t usually wake up feeling awake. My brain usually takes an hour to wake up after my body does. I generally start my mornings like most people in our generation…by checking all my social media. So, after going through my notifications and scrolling through all my social media accounts, I got out of bed feeling like being productive.

Now, since winter break has begun, another thing I do every morning is play Christmas music, and today was no different. Feeling the Christmas cheer, I checked my mails and then got down to work. Two hours later, my first alarm rang and it felt weird. I had been up for two hours already – I’d made myself breakfast, finished an essay I’d been working on, and even had time to watch a couple YouTube videos. On a normal day, at this time I’d have been grumbling, hitting the snooze button, rolling over, and going back to sleep.

The days feel longer when I wake up early (probably because they actually are, I know), but I felt like I had so much time in the day and that isn’t something I’m used to. I worked for a while longer and every half an hour from 9 am till noon, my alarm rang. I could have just turned them off, I know, but I didn’t, and so they rang. Another thing about waking up early, I think I eat more meals when I’m up earlier than usual! Since I was up at 7, by half 8 I was hungry and so I grabbed my usual breakfast of yogurt, fruit, honey, and granola. Now, that generally keeps my stomach happy till lunch, but not today. At around half 11, I was hungry again, and got myself toast and cheese. Not even noon, and I’d had two meals already!

Going off on a bit of a tangent, I’m leaving to spend Christmas at a family friend’s place tomorrow, and then I’m off to India next week. So, since today is my last full day here till the second week of January, I had to try and use up all the food I had when cooking this afternoon. I hate wasting food, it’s a pet peeve, and if I didn’t use everything while cooking, it would have to be thrown. I ended up making an Indian chicken curry and a mixed vegetable dish, and I’m happy to say I’ve used up pretty much all the vegetables I had (barring one tomato and two onions).

Frankly, I didn’t know what else to do with my day, after lunch. I did have a few errands to run, but I’m also meant to be receiving a parcel from Amazon today and if I’m not here to pick it up, well, they’ll leave and I won’t be able to get it before I leave. I even tried to take a nap, but I’m not tired after the healthy amount of sleep I had last night. So here I am, sat waiting for Amazon and writing this. I should really start packing and get everything ready since I leave tomorrow. Yeah, you know what; I think it would be wise to stop writing and get packing now.

I’d say the moral of this story is that we should sleep early and have a healthy sleep schedule, but I know I am not going to practice what I preach. Even though I’ve felt refreshed and productive all day, come tomorrow I’ll be back to wasting my time on YouTube and Netflix till 2 am and waking up a grouch the next morning.

That’s all for now, folks! Happy Christmas Eve Eve (I don’t think that’s a thing, but oh well).

Hope you’re having a good morning/afternoon/night wherever you are!

Cheers,
Zee

Quote of the Day: “Laugh and the world laughs with you, snore and you sleep alone.” – Anthony Burgess

4 thoughts on “The Christmas Eve Eve Post

Leave a Reply

