Posted in 2017, Haircut

First Haircut of 2017

I’m half-Punjabi, or half Sikh, to be precise, and in our religion, one does not cut their hair. Now, we’re not religious and so we do get haircuts, but I’ve always had long hair and even though I’m 22, I can count on my hands how many haircuts I’ve had in my lifetime. I love having long hair, and to be quite honest, the first time I got a proper haircut, I teared up. My mom is Sikh but has a bob, and keeps threatening to chop my hair off, and tells me I’m more Punjabi than she ever will be.

I got a haircut yesterday. And it’s short. Not very short, but as far as I can remember, this is the shortest my hair has ever been. Why, you ask, did I get my hair cut short if I don’t like it? Well, two reasons. The practical reason is that I’m now living in London and the really long hair was getting slightly hard to handle, and I needed a trim anyway. And this way I can just let my hair grow out without worrying about having to get another haircut in London. The other reason is that while I love my long hair, there’s only so much you can do with long straight hair and I was getting a little bored of it. I felt like it was high time for a change.

For years I’ve been considering getting highlights or dyeing my hair, but I’m too afraid to go down that route and a new style or cut is as adventurous as I get when it comes to my hair. Evidently, I’m quite emotionally attached to my hair! I won’t even deny it. I think it’s my best feature and most people agree.

Here’s a picture of my new haircut and yes I know it’s not exactly short, but compared to the usual length it is!

15967685_1552291551455548_389105765_o_edited

Also, I’ve always had slightly-wavy-but-pretty-straight-long hair, but as you can see here, the ends were curled by the stylist yesterday and I think it’s growing on me. I might do that more often.

img_20170109_131036_edited

The haircut in general, I’m still not sure whether I like or not, but I’m getting there. When the hairdresser showed me the final look yesterday, the first thing I said was, “where’s all my hair gone?” I like it, I think. It’s different, and will definitely take some getting used to, but my hair grows really quick and I’m sure it’ll be back to normal in a few months.

This has just been me rambling on about my hair, I’m sorry if I bored you with it, but that’s all I’ve got for you today!

So. That’s all for now, folks!

Hope you’re having a good morning/afternoon/night wherever you are!

Cheers,
Zee

Quote of the Day: “A woman who cuts her hair is about to change her life” – Coco Chanel

8 thoughts on “First Haircut of 2017

  1. You’re hair is gorgeous! I’ve never been able to grow my hair long since it’s so thin. I’ve always had it past my shoulders though, but I got it cut short last summer because I was just so sick of all my split ends! My hair looks a lot healthier now, and though it took a while to get used to it, I quite like it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

